William McDonough nominated for Hanley Award for Vision and Leadership in Sustainable Housing

Both the Make It Right Foundation, with which William McDonough + Partners works closely, and William McDonough have been nominated to a list of 12 industry leaders being considered to receive the 2010 Hanley Award, which is sponsored by The Hanley Foundation, Hanley Wood Business Media and EcoHome magazine in collaboration with the U.S. Green Building Council, and comes with a significant grant.

Make It Right Foundation
William McDonough, FAIA, Founder, William McDonough + Partners
David Baker, FAIA, LEED AP, Principal/Founder, David Baker + Partners, Architects
Dennis Creech, Executive Director, Southface Energy Institute
David Gottfried, Founder USGBC, Regenerative Ventures, WorldBuild Consulting
Robert Hammon PhD, Principal, ConSol
Mark LaLiberte, President, LaLiberteonline.com
Chris Miles, Principal, GreenCraft Builders LLC
Peter Pfeiffer, FAIA, Principal, Barley & Pfeiffer Architects
Alex Wilson, Founder, Executive Editor, BuildingGreen LLC
Steven Winter, FAIA, President, Steven Winter Associates
Sunia Zaterman, Executive Director, Council of Large Public Housing Authorities

Eligible nominees are residential construction industry professionals, or those working in technical research, product development, educational outreach, environmental advocacy, governmental policy, and related areas, who have made deep, long-standing, and influential commitments to sustainability, and significant and lasting contributions to the widespread implementation of environmental building concepts, techniques, and innovations in advancing sustainable housing in the U.S.

Judges meet on June 16 in Washington, DC. This year’s judges are: Michael J. Hanley, co-founder and retired CEO of Hanley Wood and president of The Hanley Foundation; Frank Anton, longtime industry thought-leader and CEO of Hanley Wood; Joyce Mason, VP of Marketing for Pardee Homes in California, a green building leader in themselves; Nate Kredich, VP of Residential Market Development for the USGBC; and last year’s recipient Edward Mazria, founder of Architecture 2030. I have included a full list of the nominees below, and have attached last year’s feature article about the program and our first recipient. Nominations were submitted by a select committee of national industry leaders: Phil Crone, Green Built Texas; Jean Dimeo, EcoHomemagazine.com; Michelle Kaufmann, AIA; Don Carr, NAHB Research Center; and Gail Vittori, Center for Maximum Potential Building Systems.